, Gloucester, MA

July 4, 2013

2013 Gloucester High School Graduation Awards

Gloucester Daily Times

---- — This is a partial list of awards given to members of the Gloucester High School Class of 2013. More of the list will be published as space becomes available.

Awards and Scholarships

Rockport National Bank Scholarship awarded to a graduating senior who has been accepted to a two- or four-year school of higher education and who intends to pursue a career in business, accounting, economics or management.

$1,500 — Ariana Ferrara Puopolo

John Ronan/Poet Laureate Scholarship (Sponsored by John J. Ronan) awarded to two graduating seniors who show an interest and ability in poetry.

$500 each — Pauline Alisson Cruz and Katerina Marie Russo

Stephen B. Ross Scholarship awarded to a graduate who exemplifies qualities of a student athlete, demonstrates financial need, has participated in athletics at the varsity level and has displayed academic excellence.

$2,000 — Jason Alexander Vizena

Arthur N. Ryan Scholarships including the Nancy Hochberg Higgins Memorial Scholarship

The criteria of the Arthur N. Ryan Scholarships are achievement of satisfactory grades, acceptance at an institution of higher learning, financial need, shown evidence of self-help and transcript of grades. These scholarships also require that students demonstrate sufficient promise and motivation to justify investment in their future.

Arthur N. Ryan Scholarship recipients ($1,500 each) — Lilly Anna Anderson, Andrew Mark Gossom, Rachel Katherine Hilshey, Mark Kenneth Horgan, Sara Marie Kenyon, Nicholas Joseph Lucido, Megan Marie Marchant, Samantha Nicole Oliver, Brianna Rose Saputo, Zachary Miles Smith, Victoria Monet Smith, Aimee Lynn Sullivan, Hannah Amelia Sumner, Leneai Christa Stuart and Samantha Leigh Wayrynen

The Nancy Hochberg Higgins Memorial Scholarship, included in the Arthur N. Ryan Scholarship Fund, requires the pursuit of a career in education, with special consideration for a person focused on the arts.

Nancy Hochberg Higgins Memorial Scholarship recipient ($1,500) — Philip Scott Nearis

The Sawyer Free Library Scholarship awarded to a Gloucester resident who has been accepted at an institute of higher learning and who has demonstrated academic achievement and involvement in community service.

$1,000 — Katerina Marie Russo

St. Peter’s Club Scholarship awarded to a son or daughter of a current member in good standing of the St. Peter’s Club who is in need of financial aid to attend a college or a preparatory school and who possesses scholastic ability, plus a proficiency such as art, leadership, athletics, music, dance, etc.

$400 each — Carlo Joseph Cracchiolo, Bianca Rose Giacalone, Jesse Earl Glidden, Nicholas Joseph Lucido, Angela Kathleen Marino, Jake William Parisi, Santo Lucas Parisi, Ariana Ferrara Puopolo, Katerina Marie Russo and Brianna Rose Saputo

Paul & Dottie Souza Memorial Scholarship awarded to a graduating senior who has been accepted to an accredited school or college with preference given to a student who has been affected, or has had an impact with those who are vision impaired.

$300 — Heather M. Boudrow

Chester C. Swift Memorial Scholarship awarded to graduate who has been accepted at a college, university or technical school for the pursuit of higher education and training.

$750 each — Pauline Alisson Cruz, Melody Rae Eaton, Sean Patrick Gillon, Mark Kenneth Horgan, Erin Elisabeth Jermyn, Melodie Ann Orrell, Danielle Lee Pomeroy, Winslow T. Powers and Hannah Marilyn Sweet

Charlie Thomas Memorial Scholarship awarded to a graduating senior who has been accepted to an accredited school for higher education with preference to a student who plans to enter the teaching profession and who shows participation in civic or community activities.

$500 — Rachel Marie Merchant