GloucesterTimes.com, Gloucester, MA

Sports

April 19, 2013

Pats to play 5 games against winning teams

FOXBOROUGH — The New England Patriots will start their season at Buffalo on Sept. 8, then play their home opener four days later in a Thursday night game against the New York Jets.

Five of the Patriots 16 games will be against teams that had winning records last season. One of them, the Denver Broncos, visits the Patriots on Nov. 24 with former New England wide receiver Wes Welker, who left as a free agent.

The other four are on the road at Atlanta (13-3) on Sept. 29, Cincinnati (10-6) on Oct. 6, Houston (12-4) on Dec. 1 and Super Bowl champion Baltimore (10-6) on Dec. 22. The Ravens beat the Patriots 28-13 in Foxborough in the AFC title game last season.

Five of the games will be played at night.

Patriots 2013 Schedule Sunday, Sept. 8 -- at Bills (1 p.m.) Thursday, Sept. 12 -- vs. Jets (8:25 p.m.) Sunday, Sept. 22 -- vs. Buccaneers (1 p.m.) Sunday, Sept. 29 -- at Falcons (8:30 p.m.) Sunday, Oct. 6 -- at Bengals (1 p.m.) Sunday, Oct. 13 -- vs. Saints (4:25 p.m.) Sunday, Oct. 20 -- at Jets (1 p.m.) Sunday, Oct. 27 -- vs. Dolphins (1 p.m.) Sunday, Nov. 3 -- vs. Steelers Sunday, Nov. 10 -- BYE Monday, Nov. 18 -- at Panthers (8:40 p.m.) Sunday, Nov. 24 -- vs. Broncos (8:30 p.m.) Sunday, Dec. 1 -- at Texans (4:25 p.m.) Sunday, Dec. 8 -- vs. Browns (1 p.m.) Sunday, Dec. 15 -- at Dolphins (1 p.m.) Sunday, Dec. 22 -- at Ravens (8:30 p.m.) Sunday, Dec. 29 -- vs. Bills (1 p.m.) Preseason schedule Friday, Aug. 9 -- at Eagles (7:30 p.m.) Friday, Aug. 16 -- vs. Buccaneers (Fox, national broadcast, 8 p.m.) Thursday, Aug. 22 -- at Lions (7:30 p.m.) Thursday, Aug. 29 -- vs. Giants (7:30 p..m.)

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Sports

Pictures of the Week
Gloucester Sports on Twitter
Gloucester celebrates a Super Bowl win!
Sports Videos
Comments Tracker
Your news, your way