GloucesterTimes.com, Gloucester, MA

May 10, 2013

Crunch Time


Gloucester Daily Times

---- — Hanrahan transferred

It appears Joel Hanrahan’s elbow injury was worse than originally thought. On Thursday the Red Sox transferred Hanrahan from the 15-day to the 60-day disabled list.

The Sox closer injured his elbow in Monday’s win over the Twins and isn’t expected back until after the All Star break at the earliest. Hanrahan surrendered a game-tying home run in the inning and the injury came two batters later. This is his second stint on the disabled list as a hamstring injury put him on the 15-day DL earlier this season.

Hanrahan has struggled this season, posting a 9.82 ERA to go along with four saves and four home runs allowed.

Pats ink Hawkins

On Thursday the Patriots agreed to a deal with another mediocre at best wide receiver. Lavelle Hawkins, who played with the Titans in 2012, reached a two-year deal with the Pats.

Hawkins joins fellow free agent signings Danny Amendola and Michael Jenkins along with draft picks Aaron Dobson and Josh Boyce in a new-look Patriots wide receiver core.

Hawkins, 26, has 71 receptions over his five-year career.

Improper Call

Major League Baseball admitted on Thursday that a replay call late in the Indians’ 4-3 win over the Athletics Wednesday night was indeed the wrong call.

A’s infielder Adam Rosales appeared to tie the game at 4-4 with a two run homer in the top of the ninth inning, but umpires ruled the ball hit the top of the wall and Rosales was given a double. Replays, however, showed the ball hit a railing behind the wall which should have led to a home run call. But umpires did not change the call and the A’s went on to lose the game 4-3.

-Compiled by Nick Curcuru