Police group honors Tarr

Courtesy photoState Senate Minority Leader Bruce Tarr, front, second from left, was among four lawmakers named Legislator of the Year on Sept. 7by the New England Police Benevolent Association. Also named were, front, from left, state Rep. James Dwyer, D-Woburn, Sen. Jennifer Flannagan, D-Leominster, and Rep. Timothy Whelan, R-Barnstable.

A Cape Ann Republican was one of four state lawmakers honored as a Legislator of the Year by the New England Police Benevolent Association.

The group said it honored state Senate Minority Leader Bruce Tarr of Gloucester last week for his work on a wide range of criminal justice issues ranging from effectively penalizing repeat violent offenders to addressing the ongoing opiate abuse crisis facing Massachusetts.

Association president Martin Conway said honor recognized Tarr’s success “in the passage of bills directly related to NEPBA members and their families.”

The ceremony in Marlborough, attended by law enforcement officers from Massachusetts and New England, featured a keynote address by Gov. Charlie Baker. Receiving awards along with Tarr were state Reps. James Dwyer, D-Woburn, and Timothy Whelan, R-Barnstable, and Sen. Jennifer Flannagan, D-Leominster.

“I am humbled to receive this recognition from a group of people who dedicate themselves so passionately to keeping all of us safe,” Tarr said. “They face danger, remain vigilant, and make the necessary sacrifices so that the rest of us can pursue without fear the things that are important in our own lives. We can never thank them enough, and they deserve our respect and support, things they continue to earn each day in our communities”.

The New England Police Benevolent Association is an incorporated, non-profit, organization that offers legal and labor-related assistance to roughly 4,000 law enforcement officers in the region.

Recommended for you