It was a moment Backlash has been waiting the last three years for. After winning the 2016 Women's Seine Boat title, Backlash was runner up to Rowgue in both 2017 and 2018.

On Friday in the championship race, Backlash was able to taste victory again, holding off Rowgue in a close race to take home the 2019 championship, the crew’s second in the last four years.

"It was a barn burner," Backlash coxswain Julie Geary said. "We were up by a little bit the whole time and that's all it took. Rowgue is a fantastic team with fantastic rowers but my team really wanted this one. We beat them before and we wanted to show that it was no fluke. I'm so proud of the way they rowed."

It was actually Rowgue, the two time defending champs who won four of the six previous championships, who got off to a good start. But once Backlash, who was rowing in the Pinta, settled into its stroke it was able to take a slight lead, a lead that it would never relinquish.

"Our stroke was phenomenal, the entire week they were on the money," Geary said. "Getting that lead early was key because once you have a lead you can control the race."

Backlash held about a half a boat lead for most of the way out and held off Rowgue each time it tried to make a move. A nice turn from Rowgue closed the gap a little bit, but Backlash was able to gain a little more separation once it got all 10 oars back into the water.

Backlash got the lead up to a boat and a half and maintained it on the way back to the beach for the victory, Xtra Oar'Dinary finished third.

"(Rowgue) pushed us, sometimes we had a boat lead, sometimes a half but every time I heard them push I gave us a push," Geary said. "My crew has wanted this for so long. We couldn't celebrate until the final stroke but they really earned this."

Uproar wins third in a row

In the Women's Junior Seine Boat Final, Uproar left no doubts as to which crew was the best in the field as they picked up a wire-to-wire win for a third straight championship.

Uproar, led by coxswain Nikki Parisi, got off to the best start of the three crews and poured it on from there, leading by well over two boats at the turn and opening up the lead on the way back.

Inseine finished second and the Lady Lukes, named after the Mamalukes, who competed in the Men's Division in the 1980's and 1990's, finished third. 

Backlash: Coxswain Julie Geary, scuttler Jack Alexander, Andrea Picano, Rachel Cecilio, Caitlyn Shatford, Ashley Smith, Samantha Cominelli, Katie Knowlton, Tess Destino, Kate Morrissey, Alissa Joe Sousa, Amanda Goveny.

Uproar: Coxswain Nikki Parisi, scuttler Mike Harmon, Taylor Abbott, Claire Knowlton, Haley Glaser, Emily Kenyon, Sophia Caldwell, Lizzy Luster, Whitney Schrock, Zoe Venetsanakos, Gabby Machado, Marisa Enes.